Ferndale Schools Staff Recognized at End-of-Year Event

Retiring staff members were also honored during the district's annual recognition celebration.

It was an afternoon of giving thanks on Friday as Ferndale Schools staff - from bus drivers and paraprofessionals to teachers and administrators - were honored as part of the district's annual staff recognition celebration.

Held on the last day of school in the auditorium, the event included honors for the district's Teachers of the Year and Employees of the Year, retiring teachers and staff, and three students who received the Future Teacher Scholarship.

Special videos were also played to give thanks to retiring administrators , and Gary Sophiea, director of operations for Ferndale Schools.

Also included was a surprise gift from Suburban Buick GMC of Ferndale, which , one of this year's District Teachers of the Year.

Here are some of the individuals honored on Friday:

Future Teacher Scholarships

  • Noah Reiter, Ferndale High School
  • Tabrian Joe, University High School
  • Richard Johnson, Alternative Education

Teachers and Employees of the Year

  • Kathy Troutt
  • Amy Rooney
  • Barb Stafford
  • Donna Newman
  • Jan Monroe
  • Naomi Campbell
  • Diana Darland
  • Kelly Waterstredt
  • Bruce Bethuy
  • Derek Adams
  • Sheila Rembert
  • Marie Cooper
  • Arnell Randle
  • Ryan Grillo
  • Bernard Wells
  • Erika Fisnar
  • Don Gerard
  • Megan Berry
  • Julie Denney
  • Paula Ballard
  • Rosemarie Slomkowski

Retiring in 2012

  • Linda Hahn
  • Denise Lyon
  • Julie Denney
  • Nancy Hendriks
  • Herb Ivory
  • Linda Madson
  • Gary Sophiea
  • Nancy Strucienski
  • Christine Surowka
  • Mary Bidawid


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »